Iceland is a republic with a written constitution and has a parliamentary form of government.

Republic indicates that government officials are elected by the people in order to represent the needs/wants of the people.

Government of Iceland

Executive Branch

Iceland has both a president and a prime minister. While the president does hold some executive powers, decisions are made mainly by the prime minister and the cabinet. The members of the cabinet are usually elected by the leaders of the political parties. If the leaders are unable to decide who to select for cabinet membership, the president will then choose.

Legislative Branch

Iceland's legislative branch consists of a parliamentary system called the Althingi, literally meaning "all things" The Althingi contains 63 members. It is arguably the oldest parliament in the world, dating back to the year 930 AD.

Judicial Branch

The judicial branch works independently of the executive and legislative branch. A Supreme Court exists as well as district courts. Supreme Court justices are appointed by the president for life.

Iceland's written constitution is similar to that of Denmark's, which had power over Iceland until 1944.

Iceland consists of 23 counties and 14 independent towns.

There are currently 5 major political parties in Iceland:

Independence Party Progressive Party Alliance Party Left-Green Movement Party Liberal Party

Every Icelandic man and woman is eligible to vote once they turn 18 years old.



Current president,Ólafur Ragnar Grímsson



Current Prime Minister, Sigmundur Davíð Gunnlaugsson